1960s Texaco Jingle

Vancouver plus 758

Reid Dickie

I shot this perfectly restored Texaco sign in front of a business on the outskirts of Dauphin, MB with the threatening sky beyond. This sign has a nostalgic meaning for me. My dad was a Texaco consignee (he sold and delivered gas to farms and service stations) for 10 years in Shoal Lake, MB. I grew up there and worked with him, even delivering fuel myself when I got my license. Dad wore a Texaco uniform and cap that featured the big red star with the green T emblazoned on the white circular background. The slogan of the day was, “Texaco. You can trust your car to the man who wears the star.” This is a re-post because I finally found the 1960s Texaco jingle that uses the above slogan. Click the pic to view the 20-second tune.

2 Comments

Filed under 1960s, Family, Roadside Attractions

2 responses to “1960s Texaco Jingle

  1. Nice memory. My grandfather had a Texaco station in a small village in Nova Scotia… And then there is also one of my all-time favourite songs – Ricki Lee Jones’ “Last Chance Texaco”. Thanks for this one.

Tell me what you think...

