Happy Birthday Walt Whitman

“Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes.” That deft response well describes its speaker, Walt Whitman. More of Walt’s words ensue:  “He most honors my style who learns under it to destroy the teacher.” and “I am for those who believe in loose delights, I share the midnight orgies of young men, I dance with the dancers and drink with the drinkers.” and “I believe a leaf of grass is no less than the journey-work of the stars.” and  “In the confusion we stay with each other, happy to be together, speaking without uttering a single word.”  Whitman was born on this day in 1819. Not dead/Dead since March 26, 1892. One more life lesson from Walt:  “Be curious, not judgmental.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Actions, Momentous Day, Old Souls

Tell me what you think...

