Happy Birthday Salvador Dali

Surrealist painter Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dali i Domenech, Marquis of Dali de Pubol, or Salvador Dali for short, born on this day in 1904, eventually said, “Democratic societies are unfit for the publication of such thunderous revelations as I am in the habit of making.” and “I don’t do drugs. I am drugs. I am hallucinogenic.” and “Surrealism is destructive, but it destroys only what it considers to be shackles limiting our vision.” and “The only difference between me and a madman is that I’m not mad.” and “The thermometer of success is merely the jealousy of the malcontents.” Refresh your drawing skills. Watch Elementary Drawing with Salvador Dali on SCTV’s Sunrise Semester. Watch the real Dali on What’s My Line in the 1950s. Not dead/Dead since January 23, 1989. Dali gave the world’s shortest speech. He said “I will be so brief I have already finished,” and he sat down.

Here’s a short video with big music and wild Dali images that takes you to the planetary Baghdad of his dreams.

Leave a comment

Filed under 1950s, Art Actions, Humour

Tell me what you think...