Happy Birthday James Brown

The Godfather of Soul, The Hardest Working Man in Show Business,  The Minister of the New New Super Heavy Funk, Soul Brother Number One, Mr. Dynamite, Sex Machine, The Godfather of Funk, Mr Please Please Please – all of whom are James Brown – was born this day in 1933 in Barnwell, South Carolina. Here’s James in his own words, “I was stillborn. The midwives laid me aside, thought I was really gone. I laid there about an hour, and they picked me back up and tried again, ’cause my body was still warm. The Good Lord brought me back.” and “Sometimes I feel like I’m a preacher as well, ’cause I can really get into an audience.” and “I think what I came through is great, but my son can take it to another level, not having to fight racism. His mother’s a Norwegian and I’m mixed up four or five times, so he can face the world.” and “The one thing that can solve most of our problems is dancing.” James teaches you some dance steps here. Not Dead/Dead since December 25, 2006.

1 Comment

Filed under Momentous Day, Music

One response to “Happy Birthday James Brown

  1. Terry Lewycky

    The only difference between reality and fiction is that fiction has to be credible. (Mark Twain).

Tell me what you think...

