Happy Birthday Michelangelo

This portrait of Michelangelo di Lodovico Buonarroti Simoni was painted by Marcello Vanusti. Born today in 1475, Michelangel0’s sculptures and paintings survive as masterpieces of any age. Stepping into Michelangelo’s head for a minute, he said, “A man paints with his brains and not with his hands.” and “The promises of this world are, for the most part, vain phantoms; and to confide in one’s self, and become something of worth and value is the best and safest course.” and “I live in sin, to kill myself I live; no longer my life my own, but sin’s; my good is given to me by heaven, my evil by myself, by my free will, of which I am deprived.” Not Dead/Dead since February 18, 1564
                            

“What spirit is so empty and blind, that it cannot recognize the fact that the foot is more noble than the shoe, and skin more beautiful than the garment with which it is clothed?” – Michelangelo

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Actions, Love, Spirit

Tell me what you think...

